Soap making: my ultimate goal for year 2013

Yay, yay, yayyyy! Doesn’t it feel good to accomplish a goal you set before time ran out?! My ultimate goal for this year is to make soap and that I just did a few days before the turn of a new year!!!

Becoming more aware of the unnecessary and negative effects of the chemicals we allow our bodies to be exposed to, I’ve become more conscious not only in what I consume but also on what I apply externally on my skin. I just read somewhere that our skin absorbs approximately 60% of what we put on it! That is amazing!

So, I did quite a few researches here and there and read many of the ingredients that, generally, mass-produced soaps contain.

Initially, I wanted to make soap without lye after reading the toxicity of it. But then, after reading more about soap-making, I learned that no one will be able to make a good, hard soap without lye! Then, I remembered back in chemistry class: we used lye many times being known chemically as NaOH! Then, after chemical reactions the soap should just be ok…

Soap-making had me excited for a long time but never got around to making one BUT I did not want to break the promise I made to myself and so, I vowed to accomplish this goal before the year ended!

Initially, I wanted to make soap from scratch! Hahaha, down to making my own lye water! I lived in an apartment which had a wood stove. I could have used the wood ash to make lye but then I moved before I was able to do that. But then I thought I shouldn’t be too hard on myself considering I’ve never made soap before. I decided to start easy and experiment from there.

And so I learned that there are 3 ways to make soap: cold process, hot process, and melt-and-pour (which would include the rebatching method, I’d say). The easiest out of these 3 is the melt-and-pour method which I opted for.

I bought 12 pounds of soap bases and many other goodies from Bulkapothecary online. Waiting for the package to arrive made me very excited!

20131231-172424.jpg

But…my excitement left me for a bit…even when I finally received it… and it took four months for the excitement to come back and before I finally opened it!

I thought I’d receive an enormous block of hard soap that I would have to chisel off from little by little but they conveniently arrived in one-pound blocks!

20131231-172646.jpg

Then…off I went! The good thing about the melt-and-pour method is that if you don’t like how the soap turned out, you could re-melt it again and do it over.

So, here’s my very first soap!!!

20131231-173211.jpg

Well, let me back track. The supplies that are must-haves that I used were: a spatula, a little mixer (i found a cappuccino mixer at a Daiso store which only cost $1.50), digital scale, cutting board, a cheese cutter, essential oils (I had tea tree oil-my favorite, lemon-eucalyptus, jasmine), a pot, and a stove– although I could have really just used a microwave =\…

20131231-173636.jpg

Oooooohhh!! And don’t forget– a very, very important must-have: a container! Based on my researches, you don’t really need a fancy mold. You can be very creative! I used tofu containers that I’ve saved and it really molds really nicely and reusable!

20131231-173527.jpg

Look how the tofu container nicely molded the edges of this bar.

20131231-174813.jpg

So, here’s the rest of my first batch of soap!

20131231-174123.jpg

20131231-174154.jpg

I got a little bit too excited with this first experiment that I didn’t even follow any recipe and was just adding things here and there, hahaha! But I thought they came out good they look like they can be eaten especially the ones with oatmeal.

Here’s a jasmine bar with jasmine flowers.

20131231-174602.jpg

Then, I made more the next day then placed them in a box so they could be safe on the flight back home todayβœˆπŸ˜„.

20131231-174754.jpg

Mission accomplished! Happy new year to all! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ†God IS good! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

Leave a comment